Cheteshwar Pujara and Murali Vijay took India to 105/1 at lunch after Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat on the first day of the first Test against New Zealand in Kanpur on Thursday.
The match, the 500th Test in India’s 84-year history in the longest format of the sport, kicks off India’s bumper home season of 13 Tests which also include series against Australia, England and Bangladesh.
On winning the toss, Kohli said, “looks like a pretty good wicket for day one,” adding that he felt “grateful and honoured” to be captaining India in its 500th Test.

(In case of difficulty viewing scorecard, click here)

Kohli’s New Zealand counterpart Kane Williamson said it would’ve been good to win the toss, describing the surface as “fairly dry”.
India XI: M Vijay, L Rahul, C Pujara, V Kohli, A Rahane, R Sharma, R Ashwin, W Saha, R Jadeja, M Shami, U Yadav
New Zealand XI: T Latham, M Guptill, K Williamson, R Taylor, L Ronchi, M Santner, BJ Watling, M Craig, I Sodhi, T Boult, N Wagner